Reflection of Gender Sociology

Sophie Furman

Never again will I be allowed to indulge myself by watching my favorite Walt Disney films, with uneducated gender sociology eyes. 1) Because never again will I be able to use the excuse “it’s just entertainment” and 2) It is now impossible for me to see anything without gender magnifying eyes. And although I find not being able to watch Walt Disney the same anymore deeply upsetting, it also makes me realize how much this class has opened my eyes up to questioning the world around us.

Taking intro to sociology last semester started to do that for me, but this class pushed concepts and ideas even further. Before I didn’t really question the system, I was blind to think that things are the way they are because it’s natural when really there is nothing natural about it, it is socialization that makes it seem that way. Gender differences aren’t innate to us they’re just taught and encouraged from the minute we’re born. Something that seems like an easy concept to grasp, was really one of the most interesting things to talk about in through out the entire semester.

My favorite part about Gender Sociology was the open discussions that we would have each class. In intro to sociology it was a struggle getting everyone to talk and have an open conversation, so to be in an environment where everyone had something to say and brought up intriguing and in depth topics and thoughts was really thought provoking.

All of the sections we read about really interested me and brought up many different intriguing and engaging thoughts and conversations. However, I think one of my favorite sections this semester was the hook up culture because living on a college campus it is something you par take in or see everyday. The article “Grinding On The Dance Floor,” has definitely changed my perspective when I’m scooping out a cro dance, or just out with friends in general. That article brought up so many ideas that before reading went right over my head. I actually think it is something all college students should read, because maybe then the hook up culture would not be so gross and sleazy. Something I find interesting is that through this class we were able to do a lot of self reflecting, I definitely have to catch myself when I see myself doing things based off of what my gender is telling me I can and can not do, but before taking this class I didn’t do that. I didn’t question that I do things the way I do them because of my gender, I never even consider that as a factor in my thought process. Now I work on catching myself when I feel as though I’m about to do/not do something based on my gender and what that means.

After taking gender sociology I still find myself aggravated with a lot of the realities we have come across. One of the biggest things that I will take away from this class is the idea of “entertainment” being an excuse for people to promote sexist behavior, objectify women’s bodies,bash men etc. Almost everything that surrounds us in gendered, and the idea that people don’t care about it because it’s viewed as “entertainment” is something I come across everyday. Whether it’s a youtube video of two girls fighting, a trailer to a new movie coming out etc. there’s always a point at which someone can say “oh it’s just entertainment, it’s not a big deal.” Well I guess the question I have after taking this course is when will people realize that it is a big deal? The way we view women in society isn’t fair and as a result we bash men when really it’s not their fault either. One can only consider something entertainment for so long until they start mimicking the behavior themselves and thinking it is acceptable in the real world. For “entertainment” purposes, can no longer be an excuse for people to watch things that polarize gender in two completely different spectrums. Ideally I’d like to live in a world where men are able to feel free to explore their emotions, and discuss their thoughts while girls express their sexual desires and make their voices heard, and no one questions whether anyone is “man” enough or “women” enough because there should be no such thing.

I’m looking forward to continuing my sociology career and dissecting more aspect of culture that I don’t seem to question on my own.

Leave a Reply

